Independent since 2003 · Licensed in 28 states · NPN 7642818

Home › Electrical Contractor Insurance Guides › How Much Does Electrical Contractor Insurance Cost?

How much does electrical contractor insurance cost?

Electrical contractor insurance cost comes down to a handful of policies. Published 2026 data gives each one a low and a high marker. Your class codes, payroll, vans and contract limits decide where you land between them. Below are sourced ranges by coverage and by shop size, plus the safe ways to trim the bill.

Key takeaways

  • General liability at $1 million per occurrence and $2 million aggregate runs from a $61 monthly median for small shops to a $379 modeled monthly average for shops with one to four employees.
  • Workers' comp is priced per $100 of payroll by class code. In Indiana's 2026 advisory rates, inside wiring (5190) is $0.901 and power line work (7538) is $1.428.
  • A solo electrician with GL, a work van, tool coverage and a license bond lands around $390 to $610 a month on published figures. Crews add comp and more vehicles.
  • The safe savings come from correct class codes, sub certificates and deductibles you can cover, not from cutting completed operations or contract limits.

What you pay depends on your payroll and class codes, revenue, loss history, the type of electrical work you do and the limits you pick.

Electrical shop owner comparing insurance costs on a laptop

Electrical contractor insurance cost by coverage

Two big published data sets give every coverage a floor and a ceiling. The gap between them is wide, and that gap tells you more than either number alone.

The first set comes from one large online insurance marketplace. It reports medians from electricians who bought policies through it, and most of those buyers have fewer than five employees.

The second set comes from MoneyGeek. It modeled prices from 10 commercial carriers. Its sample shop has one to four employees and recommended limits, priced in every state.

Read the first column as a small, simple shop. Read the second as a working crew.

CoverageSmall-shop median, per monthModeled average, 1–4 employees, per month
General liability ($1M / $2M)$61$379
Workers' comp$140 per policy$274 per employee
Commercial auto$275$200
Tools and equipment$42$6 to $48
Business owner's policy$100Not modeled
Commercial property ($100K limit)Not reported$99
Professional liability (E&O)$67 (all construction trades)$100
Umbrella$74$40 to $143
Surety bonds$10Not modeled
Cyber liabilityNot reported$87

What you pay depends on your payroll and class codes, revenue, loss history, the type of electrical work you do and the limits you pick.

Commercial auto has a third marker. Progressive Commercial reports that contractor vehicles averaged $260 a month per vehicle in 2025, with a median of $203. Both cover liability and physical damage for drivers with clean records.

Why the published numbers sit so far apart

They measure different shops. The marketplace buyers mostly earn somewhere from about $50,000 to a bit over $200,000 a year and have been open five years or less.

That's a service electrician swapping devices and adding circuits. It isn't a crew roughing in a strip center.

MoneyGeek's model uses a small crew and recommended limits, then averages across states. Its general liability figure swings from $230 a month in West Virginia to $671 in California.

Location alone can nearly triple a premium. So here's the move: treat both columns as brackets, not price tags. A quote far below the low end deserves a hard look at what's missing. A quote far above the high end deserves a question about which rating factor is driving it.

Get a quote for your electrical business →

How workers' comp is priced for electricians

Workers' comp is the line that grows fastest as you hire. Carriers rate every class of work per $100 of payroll. Your starting premium is payroll divided by 100, times the rate, for each class. Then your experience mod adjusts it. That mod is a score that compares your own claims with those of similar shops.

Many states use the NCCI rating system. There, electrical work usually falls into a few classes:

  • 5190, electrical wiring within buildings and drivers, where most inside work typically lands
  • 6325, conduit construction for cables or wires and drivers
  • 7538, electric light or power line construction and drivers
  • 7605, burglar and fire alarm installation or repair and drivers
  • 8810, clerical office employees

Some states run their own rating bureaus, including California, New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania. Codes and rules differ there.

One state's 2026 rates, for scale

ClassWorkIndiana rate per $100 of payrollMinimum premium
5190Inside electrical wiring$0.901$444
6325Conduit construction$1.277$562
7538Power line construction$1.428$610
7605Alarm installation$0.906$445
8810Clerical office$0.073$183

These are Indiana advisory rates filed for January 1, 2026. Carriers adjust them, and other states can run far higher. In MoneyGeek's data, comp averages about $150 a month per employee in Indiana and more than $600 in California and New York.

What you pay depends on your payroll and class codes, revenue, loss history, the type of electrical work you do and the limits you pick.

The rate math on one shop

Example scenario: An Indiana shop runs $300,000 of field payroll in 5190 and $45,000 of office payroll in 8810. The field portion works out to $2,703 and the office portion to about $33, before the mod, carrier pricing and fees. Put that same office payroll in 5190 by mistake and the bill climbs by roughly $373.

The premium you pay up front is a deposit based on the payroll you estimate. Once the term ends, an auditor checks real payroll by class, and you get a bill or a refund for the difference.

Subs matter here too. If you pay a sub who can't show a comp certificate, the auditor may count those payments as your payroll. If the sub's own payroll records aren't available, NCCI-style rules count at least 90% of a labor-only contract. For labor and materials, it's 50%.

Our guides on class codes and comp audits and 1099 subs and workers' comp walk through both traps.

One state works differently. In Ohio, private employers get comp from the state Bureau of Workers' Compensation, not from private carriers. Most Ohio shops add stop-gap employer's liability instead. It's often an add-on to the GL policy.

What electrical contractor insurance costs by shop size

Here are three common setups. The math uses the published figures above, so treat it as a starting estimate, not a quote.

Solo electrician, one van

You'll likely carry GL, commercial auto, tool coverage and, where your state or city requires one, a license bond. Add up the marketplace medians and you get about $388 a month ($61 + $275 + $42 + $10). MoneyGeek's starter bundle of GL and commercial auto averages $579 a month. Add tools and it's $606.

That brackets a one-van shop at roughly $390 to $610 a month, or about $4,700 to $7,300 a year. Whether a sole owner must carry comp depends on your state, so check with your state's comp agency.

Small crew, two to eight field employees

Comp and extra vans start to run the bill. MoneyGeek's growing-business bundle (GL, auto, tools and comp) averages $881 a month, or about $10,565 a year.

Example scenario: A residential and light commercial shop has four field electricians, $240,000 of 5190 payroll and three vans. At Indiana's 2026 advisory rate, comp starts near $2,162 before the mod and carrier pricing. At Progressive's 2025 contractor median and average, three vans run about $609 to $780 a month. GL climbs too, since bigger contracts and more complex systems price higher.

Commercial shop, 15 to 40 employees

At this size no honest single average exists, because payroll and fleet drive most of the cost.

Example scenario: A commercial shop has 25 field employees, $1.5 million of 5190 payroll and 12 trucks. Indiana's advisory rate puts comp near $13,515 before the mod. Twelve vehicles at Progressive's contractor median and average come to roughly $29,200 to $37,400 a year.

Then add higher GL limits, an umbrella for GC contracts and performance bonds that the surety prices from your financials. MoneyGeek's eight-policy bundle for established shops averages $1,258 a month. For a crew this size, comp and autos alone pass that figure.

What you pay depends on your payroll and class codes, revenue, loss history, the type of electrical work you do and the limits you pick.

Get a quote for your electrical business →

What pushes your price up or down

Underwriters price the same few things on every electrical account.

  • The work you do. Device swaps and fixture installs usually price lower than new construction, generators, fire alarm panels or building controls. Power line work sits in a higher comp class than inside wiring.
  • Payroll and revenue. Comp follows payroll by class. GL tends to rise with revenue and contract size.
  • Loss history. Claims push up your experience mod and your GL renewal.
  • Limits and deductibles. A $1 million / $2 million GL policy typically costs more than a $1 million / $1 million policy. Lower deductibles cost more too.
  • Location. Your state and city shift every line on the bill.
  • Drivers. Clean records keep auto rates down, and tickets can push them up.
  • Tool values. Gear valued above $2,500 per piece may have to be scheduled, or listed by name, on the policy.
  • Uninsured subs. Subs without certificates can land on your comp audit.

How to lower electrical contractor insurance costs without gaps

Fix how you're rated before you touch what you're covered for.

  1. Split payroll by class. Track office and estimating time apart from field time so qualifying clerical staff rate as 8810, not 5190. The carrier and auditor decide who qualifies, so keep time records.
  2. Collect sub certificates before day one. A current comp and GL certificate from every sub helps keep their pay off your audit.
  3. Report payroll changes mid-term. When you add or lose a crew, tell your agent. Your deposit tracks reality and the audit bill doesn't hit all at once.
  4. Raise deductibles you can cover in cash. A higher deductible usually lowers the premium. Pick one you could pay from the bank tomorrow.
  5. Bundle where you qualify. A BOP combines GL, property and business income, and it often costs less than buying them apart. Carriers set eligibility by size and type of work.
  6. Check driving records before you hand over keys. One bad driver can lift the rate on the whole fleet.
  7. Compare quotes at the same limits. A low quote may carry lower limits or leave out coverage your contracts need.

Electrician insurance cost questions

How much does $1 million in contractor insurance cost for an electrician?
For general liability at $1 million per occurrence and $2 million aggregate, published 2026 figures run from a $61 monthly median for small shops to a $379 modeled monthly average for shops with one to four employees. What you pay depends on your payroll and class codes, revenue, loss history, the type of electrical work you do and the limits you pick.
How much is a $2 million insurance policy for an electrical business?
A standard $1 million / $2 million GL policy already carries a $2 million aggregate. When a contract wants $2 million per occurrence, many shops add a $1 million umbrella on top. Published data puts electrician umbrellas at roughly $40 to $143 a month, and you need the underlying policies in place first.
How much is electrician insurance per month for a one-person shop?
Roughly $390 to $610 a month for GL, commercial auto, tool coverage and a license bond, based on two published 2026 data sets. Residential service work, a clean driving record and a lower-cost state tend to pull you toward the low end. Commercial work and a high-cost state push you up.
Why did my comp premium jump after the payroll audit?
Usually one of three things happened. Your actual payroll ran higher than the estimate, payroll landed in a higher-rated class, or the auditor counted payments to subs who had no comp certificate. Ask for the audit worksheet, then check your class splits and certificates line by line.
When should a new electrical LLC buy insurance?
Before the first paid job, and before you apply for a license if your state board asks for proof of coverage. Comp typically becomes required once you hire employees, but the rules for owners and apprentices vary by state. Confirm with your state's comp agency and licensing board.

Want a second set of eyes on your coverage?

Independent agents, 12+ A-rated carriers, and a licensed agent back to you within one business day.

Get a QuoteCall (855) 393-0477

Get a QuoteCall